Who is our Redeemer?

Recently our family went to see the new movie “A Wrinkle In Time.”   This is a book that I read in elementary school.   (In retrospect, I am surprised that my Christian school allowed a New Age book to be on the booklist.)  I loved the book when I read it, but that was about 35 years ago.  I didn’t remember much about it.

My daughter read the book in school last year and did a project on it.  She loved the book, too, and was very excited about the movie.  So we went.

Now, this blog is NOT about a movie review.  Let me preface my comments with this.  I love fantasy movies, and my parents taught me well how to separate fantasy from reality.  I do not think that my daughter was corrupted by the book or the movie.  It is a fun, fantastical story.

However, I left the movie with a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach.  The movie focuses on a young girl who is searching the universe for her missing father.  She is shy and awkward with very little self-confidence.  The movie explores her journey to self-acceptance.

The sick feeling that I had came from the idea that our society has once again found a way to subtly suggest that there is a redeemer other than Jesus Christ.  This young girl reached deep within herself and found the power to conquer the universe and save her father.  When stated in those words, it sounds like she is being deified.  It reinforces the notion that we all have good within us, and we can muster up the power and ability to save ourselves.

It makes an inspiring fantasy and an enjoyable read.  But it is imperative that we identify it as nothing more than that.   It is not truth.  The Truth is that there is only One Redeemer, and that is Jesus Christ.

We are nearing the end of part one of our journeys through the “New City Catechism.”  Over the last weeks we have learned that God created man.  Man rejected God bringing death and an irreparable relationship with Him.  But now, we see that there is hope through a Redeemer, ONE Redeemer, Jesus Christ.  Part two will break this down for us and give us the handles to embrace the truths of Jesus Christ’s work.

Keep pressing on!

About bethany0829

I am blessed to be on staff at Coastal Community Church in Yorktown, VA as the Executive Director of Engagement. I am also an Instructional Mentor for Liberty University Online. I have a wonderful husband, Chris, and beautiful daughter, Kristin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment