Theological Triage

Please feel free to respond to this blog post.  I am sitting here sick.  BLAH!  So I hope my thoughts come out in some kind of coherent way.  My daughter turned on the last episode of Manifest, one of our favorite shows this fall.  I’m watching it for the second time.

So let me preface my remarks with this…I really like this show!!  And I will continue to watch it.

With that said, I want to keep encouraging you to think critically as you take in the “entertainment” of this world.  So, as I watch, here is where I get a little frustrated with the Enemy…the world, my flesh, and the devil.

The main character was going to say “yes” to a marriage proposal, but then her plane “disappeared” for 5 years.  Her finance moved on thinking she was dead.  But now that she is back, he is rethinking his marriage since her “death”.

In the season finale (spoiler alert) he is unconscious in ICU, and the main character begs “the callings” to save him.  She later refers to being on her knees praying for his healing.

These things are so subtle.  I find myself wanting the main character and her former fiance to get together.  How romantic!  Right?   But then he would have to break his marriage vows.  But he thought she was dead.  So does “Til death us do part” give him a loophole in his marriage.  Of course not, but do you see how subtly the enemy moves our perspective?

Was she praying to God?  Of course not.  The calling is very inconsistent with the true God, but there is just a small enough spin to have us cheering for this divine being to intercede.  If we are not careful, we will impose our preconceived ideas and think that they really are praying to God.  But consider unbelievers watching the show.  They are going to put any qualities these writers give to “the Calling” to our Heavenly Father.

Be. Aware.     Know. the. Truth.      Practice. Discernment.

About bethany0829

I am blessed to be on staff at Coastal Community Church in Yorktown, VA as the Executive Director of Engagement. I am also an Instructional Mentor for Liberty University Online. I have a wonderful husband, Chris, and beautiful daughter, Kristin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment