What is salvation?

As we continue our 104-day Challenge through the New City Catechism, we are reading a great deal about what it means to be “saved.”  What is faith in Christ?  Where does that faith come from?  These are very interesting questions, and it is important that we understand this process.

I grew up knowing that I should be “saved.”  I even took it further to know that I needed to be “saved” from sin.  I knew that I was a sinner in need of forgiveness, and in getting saved, Jesus would forgive all of my sin.

I also learned the big word “justification.”  I learned that by accepting Jesus, I would be justified or declared righteous before God.

This is where salvation stopped in my understanding.  I heard the Gospel.  I accepted the Gospel.  Jesus forgave me. Salvation.

So when I was challenged with the idea of living the Gospel each day, and allowing the Gospel to intersect with every facet of my life, I was quite perplexed.  I was saved.  That is what the Gospel is for, right?

No, it is actually much than that.  Salvation is justification, sanctification and glorification.  We are saved from the penalty of sin (justificiation) because of the Gospel.  We grow in righteousness through the Spirit working in us (sanctification) because of the Gospel.  And one day, we will be with Christ in heaven (glorification) because of the Gospel.

The entire process is salvation.  The entire process is made possible only through the Gospel message, person and work of Jesus Christ.  This is how I can live the Gospel each day.

 

About bethany0829

I am blessed to be on staff at Coastal Community Church in Yorktown, VA as the Executive Director of Engagement. I am also an Instructional Mentor for Liberty University Online. I have a wonderful husband, Chris, and beautiful daughter, Kristin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment