104-Day Challenge

This weekend, the Women of Coastal hosted a retreat in Virginia Beach, Virginia.  We were privileged to have speaker, Aimee Byrd, share with us.  (housewifetheologian.com and alliancenet.org/mos)

The theme of our retreat was “Making Him Known – Through Knowing His Word,” and Aimee spoke on being “Theologically Fit.”  It may not seem like your typical women’s retreat theme, but the Women of Coastal aren’t your typical Christian women.  They are women who are hungry for the “meat” of God’s Word.

“Meat” is certainly the description I would give to the content of our retreat.  It was rich with doctrine and truth.  There was so much that it will take a while for it all to absorb.  🙂

To help us all become more “Theologically Fit” and to absorb what we learned this weekend, we have put forth a 104-day challenge to all the Women of Coastal and our friends.  (So feel free to pass it on!)   The instructions are below, but first I would like to address the question, “Why bother?”

I grew up in the church.  I do not remember a day in my life where I was not aware of God and being taught something about His Word.   But I must admit that for the majority of my life, I stayed on the surface.  I knew a lot of facts, stories, and basic concepts, but when it came to doctrine, I left it to the pastors and professors.  That “doctrine stuff” was meant only for those who would preach it.   This perspective was very wrong!

Theological studies and doctrines help us to know more of Who God is.  In doing so, not only do we love Him more, but we can rest more in the promises He has made.  When I began to simply learn doctrine (rather than reading popular Christianity books or searching the Bible on the topic that appealed to my feelings) I saw a transformation in my heart like never before.

I could not comprehend that idea before I started learning more, and now I can hardly remember what it was like to feel so lost and confused.

If lost, confused or discouraged describe how you feel about knowing God’s Word, this challenge is for you!   If confident and deep more accurately describe you, this challenge is for you too!   No matter where you are in your walk with God, continually learning more about His plan and how to revolves around the Gospel is never a waste of time.

Will you take the challenge?  If so, here it is.  Check back into my blog throughout the next 104 days where we can further discuss what we are learning. (Just comment on my blog post.)

104-Day Challenge

  1. Get the New City Catechism app or devotional.  The app is free!
  2. Email sarah@gocoastal.org or reply to this blog and we will add you to our list of participants.  We will email you once each week to remind and encourage you.
  3. Study one catechism every two days.  Each one has two devotionals, so you can do one each day.
  4. Join us (if you are local or want to take a road trip) on May 29.  We’ll also go Facebook Live for those who are at a distance!   We will celebrate our progress and share what we have learned.  If you complete 3 catechisms or all 52, we want you to come and celebrate with us.
  5. Need an extra challenge?  Try memorizing the catechisms too!  🙂

About bethany0829

I am blessed to be on staff at Coastal Community Church in Yorktown, VA as the Executive Director of Engagement. I am also an Instructional Mentor for Liberty University Online. I have a wonderful husband, Chris, and beautiful daughter, Kristin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment