What is Sabbath?

As we go through the 10 commandments in our 104-day challenge, I wanted to take some time to talk about “Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy.”

The Sabbath is a great study for you to do.   Last year, I spent time looking at this subject.  I used Priscilla Schrier’s study “Breathe” as a starting point.

Whenever I thought of “Sabbath” I would get very discouraged for two reasons.  First, I am a workaholic.  It is not just that I work all the time.  Work is like a drug for me.  I go through withdrawals when work slows down, and I don’t know what to do with myself.  This. Is. Not. Good.   As a matter of fact, it is sin, and I have prayed that God would forgive me and help me to be transformed in this area.

Second, when I think of Sabbath, I think of doing nothing…absolutely nothing.  I do not rest when I am doing nothing.  The thought alone stresses me out!  😉   So I like the answer to this question today.  “…we spend time in public and private worship of God, rest from routine employment, serve the Lord and others, and so anticipate the eternal Sabbath.”

The point is not to sit around and do nothing.  The point is that we are refreshed.   We rest from routine employment.  But we also worship God.  We serve the Lord.  How do you do these things?  What can you do that refreshes you?  Do that.

I like to read, scrapbook, quilt, put puzzles together, etc.  Yesterday was my “day off.”   I took a few hours in the afternoon to sit down a read a book.  It was very refreshing!  I do love to read fiction, and I often do, but yesterday, I chose a book that talks about serving God by effectively serving His people.   Even though it was related to my ministry, it was still refreshing.

My point is this…Sabbath is not just sitting quietly and emptying your mind like a type of yoga.  It is refreshing and refilling yourself for what God has called you to do.  (And for some of you this might be sitting quietly and emptying your mind.)  I would love to hear your thoughts on the Sabbath, and perhaps you would share with us how you remember the Sabbath and keep it holy.

About bethany0829

I am blessed to be on staff at Coastal Community Church in Yorktown, VA as the Executive Director of Engagement. I am also an Instructional Mentor for Liberty University Online. I have a wonderful husband, Chris, and beautiful daughter, Kristin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment